Skip to content

Men’s 2024 T20 Cricket World Cup All Set For June In The USA And West Indies

The tournament will be contested by 20 teams, an expansion from 16 teams at the 2022 tournament
Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Cricket history was made as Namibia and Uganda battled their way through the Africa Qualifier, claiming the final two spots in the prestigious 20-team ICC Men’s T20 World Cup! Uganda will be making their tournament debut, joining co-hosts USA and Canada for a spectacular showcase of cricketing talent this June. The upcoming edition will be co-hosted by the West Indies and the United States from June 1 to June 29, 2024. 


The tournament will feature 20 teams, which is an expansion from the 16 teams that participated in the 2022 edition. The current defending champions are England, who won the 2022 tournament by defeating Pakistan in the final. Other notable teams to watch out for include India, Australia, New Zealand, and South Africa.


Namibia, boasting impressive consistency throughout the Qualifier, secured their place with a dominant undefeated run. Uganda, on the other hand, etched their name in history by pulling off a thrilling nine-wicket victory over Rwanda, marking their first-ever appearance at a major ICC event.


The upcoming T20 World Cup promises to be a true celebration of the sport, with established powerhouses facing exciting newcomers like Uganda and Canada. Fans can expect a vibrant display of skill, passion, and unexpected upsets as these nations battle for cricketing glory.


While both West Indies and USA secured entry into the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, their paths to qualification differed drastically. The West Indian titans earned their spot automatically as co-hosts, bringing their powerhouse experience and passionate home crowd to the tournament. However, USA’s journey is a story of grit and determination, marking their historic debut in the global cricketing arena. As co-hosts, they’ll be making their debut on the global stage, injecting a fresh dose of excitement into the competition


This World Cup promises a captivating blend of established powerhouses and exciting newcomers. Eight giants of the sport secured their spots in the upcoming competition by dominating the previous tournament in 2022, finishing among the top eight contenders.


England, the reigning champions, will be eager to defend their title, while Pakistan seeks revenge after their narrow defeat in the finals. New Zealand, India, and Australia return with their powerhouse squads, ready to challenge for the ultimate glory. South Africa and the ever-improving Netherlands are forces to be reckoned with, while Sri Lanka brings experience and a hunger to reclaim past glories.


Afghanistan and Bangladesh subsequently qualified after being the next two highest teams in the T20I rankings. From the European qualifiers, Ireland and Scotland emerged victorious whereas across the East Asia-Pacific region, Papua New Guinea defied expectations, emerging as champions and securing their historic World Cup debut.

(Additional reporting provided by Joseph Hammond)

“What’s the latest with Florida Man?”

Get news, handpicked just for you, in your box.

Check out our free email newsletters

Recommended from our partners